Getting Started with RetroArchLink

Using RetroArchLink

On the first run you will be greeted by this screen:

Screenshot

From here you can launch content, change settings and build up your content collection.

Basic NavigationLink

The menu is designed with gamepad navigation in mind but it does have keyboard support. The keyboard controls are:

Menu In-game
Key Action Key Action
Move cursor up Menu toggle
Move cursor down Save state
Move cursor left Load state
Move cursor right Increase current state slot
Scroll one page up Decrease current state slot
Scroll one page down Take screenshot
Select Mute
Return to the previous screen Show on-screen keyboard
Help Grab mouse
Remove highlighted input bind Volume Up
Reset to default Volume Down
Search Fast forward toggle
Exit RetroArch Fast forward hold
Rewind
Movie record
Pause
Frame advance
Reset
Next shader
Previous shader
Netplay toggle play/spectate
Slow motion

Gamepad ConfigurationLink

XINPUT controllers should work out of the box. If the controller can be autoconfigured the OSD will inform you of the autoconfiguration event.

We also include autoconf profiles for many popular controllers. If your controller doesn't auto configure you can follow this procedure:

Screenshot

  • Navigate to Settings
  • Navigate to Input
  • Navigate to Input User 1 Binds
  • Select User 1 Bind All
  • Press the buttons as required

Tip

If you have several different controller types you may want to use the User 1 Save Autoconfig followed by User 1 Bind Default All options after binding in order to achieve hotplug functionality

Directory ConfigurationLink

Configuring directories is an important aspect to get the best RetroArch experience possible. To configure the directories follow these steps:

  • Navigate to Settings
  • Navigate to Directories
  • Select the directory you want to changed
  • Navigate to the desired location

You should always configure the following paths:

  • System Directory for system files
  • Savefile Directory for save files
  • Savestate Directory save state files
  • Browser Directory for your content

Tip

The Browser Directory is used as a startup location which allows easy access to your content library.

Installing CoresLink

RetroArch requires cores to run any content. You can download cores directly from RetroArch's interface by following this procedure:

Screenshot

  • Navigate to Online Updater
  • Navigate to Select Core Updater
  • Select the core you want to download

Running ContentLink

After you have installed one or more cores you can run your content following this procedure:

  • Navigate to Load Content
  • Browse to the folder that contains the content you want to run
  • Select the content that you want to run
  • If you have more than one compatible core you will be asked to select the core you want to use for that purpose

Screenshot

Tip

By default loading content will trigger a content scan. If your content matches with any of our databases it will be added to a playlist for easy access. You can find the playlists by navigating to the right of the main menu.

Tip

Every content you launch is added to a history playlist that you can use to load it again quickly at any time

GlossaryLink

frontendLink

A frontend is a program designed to run libretro cores such as Kodi's RetroPlayer, RetroArch, Phoenix, Minir

coreLink

A core is a program that has been ported to the libretro API and runs inside a libretro frontend

contentLink

Content can be a game, an image, a video, an audio file that is executed by a core. In most cases contents are the ROMs of an emulated platform

retropadLink

RetroPad is libretro’s input abstraction controller, it’s the interface between the physical controller and the core inputs

save filesLink

Save files are saves that are made from within a game, usually cross platform and should work across emulators in most cases

save statesLink

Save states are snapshots of the content menory at a particular moment, these are not always cross platform and most certainly won’t work on a different emulator that the one used to create them

system filesLink

Additional files that might or not be part of the romset that might be needed to get some content to work (usually referred to by the BIOS term)

autoconfLink

A configuration file that has button definitions for a particular gamepad