Skip to content

RetroAchievements In RetroArch

What are RetroAchievements?

retroachievements.org is a service that provides a trophy/achievement unlocking mechanism similar to modern consoles, for retro games.

Warning

The service is not maintained by RetroArch or the Libretro team.

Note

If you want to contribute, please update RetroArch and cores to get the latest fixes on the RetroAchievements feature, then in order to propose improvements to this document, do it via GitHub using "Pull Requests".

How to setup achievements

  1. Register an account on retroachievements.org (don't forget to confirm your account creation with the email they send to you).
  2. Open Retroarch and go to Settings->Achievements.
  3. Enable the functionality and fill in your retroachievements credentials.

Note

The hardcore mode prevents you from using emulation features like savestates, slow motion, and cheats, BUT it gives you double points.

Check your connection to the service

You need an active internet connection.

In this example, we are using the game Chrono Trigger (USA) with the Snes9x core.

Launch the game and trigger the Quick Menu.

Go to Achievements and you should see a list of the unlockable trophies for this game.

Check your progress

On the retroachievements website, you can login and access your account page.

You should be able to check your progress in the games and see which trophies you unlocked.

Trophies unlocked in hardcore mode are marked with a special color.

You can also check the progress of your friends and add comments on their trophies.

Cores Compatibility

Arcade (various manufacturers)

Arcade

Core Supported Notes
FinalBurn Neo AES bios is required for most Neo Geo achievements. AES Asia is generally English.
MAME Support is not likely to ever be possible. The same is true for all MAME variants.

Atari

2600

Core Supported Notes
Stella
Stella 2014

7800

Core Supported Notes
ProSystem

Jaguar

Core Supported Notes
Virtual Jaguar Due to vast core issues, support of this system is extremely limited.

Lynx

Core Supported Notes
Beetle Lynx
Handy

Bandai

Wonderswan / Wonderswan Color

Core Supported Notes
Beetle Cygne

Coleco

ColecoVision

Core Supported Notes
blueMSX
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in coleco subdirectory, exact archives just like arcade. Not all games may be linked for this core.
SMS Plus GX Coleco games aren't fully playable in this core yet.

GCE

Vectrex

Core Supported Notes
vecx

Microsoft

MSX / MSX2

Core Supported Notes
blueMSX
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in msx subdirectory, exact archives just like arcade. Not all games may be linked for this core. MSX2 is not supported.
fMSX Emulation is too unstable to support.

NEC

PC Engine - TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine CD - TurboGrafx-CD

Core Supported Notes
Beetle PCE FAST Highest speed. Does not support SuperGrafx games.
Beetle SuperGrafx High speed. Supports SuperGrafx games.
Beetle PCE High accuracy, lower speed. Supports SuperGrafx games.
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in pce, tg16, or sgx subdirectories, exact archives just like arcade. Not all games may be linked for this core. CD is not supported.

PC-FX

Core Supported Notes
Beetle PC-FX

PC-8000 / PC-8800

Core Supported Notes
QUASI88 Some games may be unsupported in Retroarch due to missing options. Sets generally expect the MkIISR bios.

Nintendo

Nintendo DS

Core Supported Notes
DeSmuME External BIOS recommended, needs to be enabled in core options
DeSmuME 2015
MelonDS BIOS required

Game Boy / Game Boy Color

Core Supported Notes
SameBoy
Gambatte
Gearboy
VBA-M Has gyro support via analog sticks
mGBA
Mesen-S Currently the only supported core with complete SGB support. Supports GB and GBC without SGB as well.
Emux GB
TGB Dual
bsnes SGB only
bsnes-hd SGB only
higan Accuracy SGB only, Achievement support isn't going to be added
nSide Balanced SGB only, Achievement support isn't going to be added

Game Boy Advance

Core Supported Notes
mGBA
VBA-M
VBA Next
gpSP Very high speed, but has not been thoroughly tested with achievements. Please prefer other cores when device performance allows.
Beetle GBA Experimental core, should not be used without good reason.
Meteor

NES

Core Supported Notes
FCEUmm Supports FDS
Mesen Supports FDS, very high accuracy
QuickNES
Nestopia UE Achievements are not fully supported yet
bnes
Emux NES
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in nes or fds subdirectories, exact archives just like arcade. Not supported at this time.

Nintendo 64

Core Supported Notes
Mupen64Plus-Next Preferred core. Supports greater graphic customization and upscaling.
ParaLLEl N64 Supports 64DD games. Can play -some- hacks reliant on low accuracy via alternate plugins.

Pokemon Mini

Core Supported Notes
PokeMini

SNES

Core Supported Notes
Snes9x High speed, moderate accuracy. Actively maintained.
Snes9x 2010
Snes9x 2005 Plus
Snes9x 2005
Snes9x 2002
Mesen-S High accuracy, high performance cost. Actively maintained.
Beetle Supafaust
Beetle bsnes
bsnes
bsnes-hd
bsnes-mercury Accuracy
bsnes-mercury Balanced
bsnes-mercury Performance
bsnes 2014 Accuracy
bsnes 2014 Balanced
bsnes 2014 Performance
bsnes C++98 (v085)
higan Accuracy Achievement support isn't going to be added
nSide Balanced Achievement support isn't going to be added

Virtual Boy

Core Supported Notes
Beetle VB

Sega

Master System / MegaDrive - Genesis

Core Supported Notes
Genesis Plus GX
BlastEm Cycle accurate. Genesis/MegaDrive only.
Picodrive
Gearsystem
SMS Plus GX Master System only
Emux SMS
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in megadriv or sms subdirectories, exact archives just like arcade. Not supported at this time.

32X / 32X CD

Core Supported Notes
Picodrive Emulation quality can be dodgy.

Game Gear

Core Supported Notes
Genesis Plus GX
Gearsystem
SMS Plus GX
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in gamegear subdirectory, exact archives just like arcade. Not supported at this time.

SG-1000

Core Supported Notes
Genesis Plus GX
Gearsystem
blueMSX
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in sg1000 subdirectory, exact archives just like arcade. Not all games may be linked for this core.

Sega CD - Mega-CD

Core Supported Notes
Genesis Plus GX
Picodrive

Saturn

Core Supported Notes
Beetle Saturn
Yabause x
Yabasanshiro x
Kronos x

SNK

Neo Geo Pocket / Neo Geo Pocket Color

Core Supported Notes
Beetle NeoPop
RACE
FinalBurn Neo Requires games in ngp subdirectory, exact archives just like arcade. Not supported at this time.

Sony

PlayStation

Core Supported Notes
Beetle PSX HW Identical to Beetle PSX, with extra hardware features. High accuracy.
Beetle PSX Identical to Beetle PSX HW in software mode.
PCSX ReARMed Lower accuracy than Beetle PSX (HW), higher speed.
DuckStation High accuracy, extremely high speed. Core is still a work in progress. Not supported on 32-bit systems.

The 3DO Company (various manufacturers)

3DO

Core Supported Notes
Opera